Anti-Cockfighting Laws of United States

This is for reference only and consult an attorney to be sure of your rights and laws in your state.

FEDERAL

The Agriculture Act of 2014 (H.R. 2642)

SEC. 12308. AMENDMENTS TO ANIMAL WELFARE ACT.

“It shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly:

– attend an animal fighting venture; whoever violates shall be fined, imprisoned for not more than 1 year, or both, for each violation.

– cause an individual who has not attained the age of 16 to attend an animal fighting venture; whoever violates shall be fined, imprisoned for not more than 3 years, or both, for each violation.”

STATES AND TERRITORIES

Table Updated: April 2013

State Cockfighting Possession
of
Cocks
for
Fighting
Spectator Possession
of
Cockfighting
Implements
Alabama Misdemeanor Legal Legal Legal
Alaska Felony Felony Misdemeanor(1) Legal
Arizona Felony Felony Felony Legal
Arkansas Felony Felony Misdemeanor Legal
California Felony(2) Misdemeanor Misdemeanor Misdemeanor
Colorado Felony Felony Felony Felony
Connecticut Felony Felony Felony Legal
Delaware Felony Felony Felony Legal
Florida Felony Felony Felony Felony
Georgia Felony Legal Legal Legal
Hawaii Misdemeanor Legal Legal Legal
Idaho Felony Legal Legal  Felony
Illinois Felony Felony Felony Misdemeanor
Indiana Felony Felony Misdemeanor Misdemeanor
Iowa Felony Felony Felony(3) Felony
Kansas Felony Legal Misdemeanor Misdemeanor
Kentucky
Misdemeanor Legal Misdemeanor Legal
Louisiana Felony(3) Felony Misdemeanor Legal
Maine Felony Felony Misdemeanor Legal
Maryland Felony Felony Misdemeanor Felony
Massachusetts Felony Felony Felony Legal
Michigan Felony Felony Felony Felony
Minnesota Felony Felony Misdemeanor Misdemeanor
Mississippi Misdemeanor Legal Legal Legal
Missouri Felony Legal Misdemeanor Misdemeanor
Montana Felony Felony Legal Legal
Nebraska Felony Felony Felony Misdemeanor
Nevada Felony(3) Felony(3) Felony(4) Legal
New Hampshire Felony Felony Felony Legal
New Jersey Felony Felony Felony Legal
New Mexico Felony(4) Felony(4) Legal Legal
New York Felony Misdemeanor Misdemeanor Legal
North Carolina Felony Legal Felony Legal
North Dakota Felony Felony Misdemeanor Legal
Ohio Misdemeanor Misdemeanor Misdemeanor Misdemeanor
Oklahoma Felony Felony Misdemeanor Felony
Oregon Felony Felony Felony Felony(5)
Pennsylvania
Felony Felony Felony Legal
Rhode Island
Felony Felony Felony Legal
South Carolina Misdemeanor Legal Misdemeanor Legal
South Dakota Misdemeanor Legal Misdemeanor Legal
Tennessee Misdemeanor Misdemeanor Misdemeanor Legal
Texas Felony Misdemeanor Misdemeanor Misdemeanor
Utah Misdemeanor Legal Misdemeanor Legal
Vermont Felony Felony Felony Legal
Virginia
Felony Felony Felony Felony
Washington Felony Felony Felony Legal
West Virginia Misdemeanor Misdemeanor Misdemeanor Legal
Wisconsin Felony Felony Misdemeanor Legal
Wyoming Felony Felony Misdemeanor Legal
Cockfighting Possession
of
Cocks
for
Fighting 
Spectator  Possession
of
Cockfighting
Implements
Number of States  40 Felony 32 Felony 20 Felony 9 Felony
Number of States 10 Misdemeanor 6 Misdemeanor 23 Misdemeanor 9 Misdemeanor
Number of States 12 Legal 7 Legal 31 Legal
Washington DC Felony Felony Felony Legal
American Samoa Legal Legal Legal Legal
Guam Legal Legal Legal Legal
Puerto Rico Legal Legal Legal Legal
Virgin Islands Legal Legal Legal Legal

Note:

  1. Second or subsequent offense is a misdemeanor.
  2. Second or subsequent offense can be a felony.
  3. Second or subsequent offense is a felony.
  4. Third or subsequent violation is a felony.
  5. Possession of gaffs and slashers is a Class C Felony; possession of all other cockfighting implements is a Class A Misdemeanor.

Table Below Updated: March 09, 2009

State

Cockfighting

Possession of Birds for Fighting

Spectator at a Cockfight

Possession of Implements

Rank

4 Felony
Florida Felony
Max 5 years
Max $5,000
Felony
Max 5 years
Max $5,000
Felony
Max 5 years
Max $5,000
Felony
Max 5 years
Max $5,000
1
Michigan Felony
Max 4 years
$5,000- $50,000
500-100 hours community service
Felony
Max 4 years
$5,000-$50,000
500-100 hours community service
Felony
Max 4 years
$1,000- $5,000
250-500 hours community service
Felony
Max 4 years
$1,000- $5,000
250-500 hours community service
2
Colorado Class 5 Felony
1-3 years
Max $1,000
Class 5 Felony
1-3 years
Max $1,000
Class 5 Felony
1-3 years
Max $1,000
Class 5 Felony
1-3 years
Max $1,000
3
Virginia Class 6 Felony
Max 5 years
Max $2,500
Class 6 Felony
Max 5 years
Max $2,500
Class 6 Felony
Max 5 years
Max $2,500
Class 6 Felony
Max 5 years
Max $2,500
4
3 Felony
Iowa Class D Felony
Max 5 years
$750-$7,500
Class D Felony
Max 5 years
$750-$7,500
Aggravated misdemeanor
Max 2 years
$500-$5,000
Class D Felony
Max 5 years
$750-$7,500
5
Maryland Felony
Max 3 years
Max $5,000
Felony
Max 3 years
Max $5,000
Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $2,500
Felony
Max 3 years
Max $5,000
6
3 Felony, 1 Legal
New Jersey Crime of the 3rd Degree
3-5 years
$3,000-$5,000
Crime of the 3rd Degree
3-5 years
$3,000-$5,000
Crime of the 3rd Degree
3-5 years
$3,000-$5,000
Legal 7
Pennsylvania 3rd Degree Felony
Max 7 years
Max $15,000
3rd Degree Felony
Max 7 years
Max $15,000
3rd Degree Felony
Max 7 years
Max $15,000
Legal 8
New Hampshire Class B Felony
Max 7 years
Max $4,000
Class B Felony
Max 7 years
Max $4,000
Class B Felony
Max 7 years
Max $4,000
Legal 9
Nebraska Class IV felony
Max 5 years
Max $10,000
Class IV felony
Max 5 years
Max $10,000
Class IV felony
Max 5 years
Max $10,000
Legal 10
Washington Class C Felony
5 years
$10,000
Class C Felony
5 years
$10,000
Class C Felony
5 years
$10,000
Legal 11
Connecticut Felony
Max 5 years
Max $5,000
Felony
Max 5 years
Max $5,000
Felony
Max 5 years
Max $5,000
Legal 12
Vermont Felony
Max 5 year
Max $5,000
Felony
Max 5 year
Max $5,000
Felony
Max 5 year
Max $5,000
Legal 13
Rhode Island Felony
Max 2 years
Max $1,000
Felony
Max 2 years
Max $1,000
Felony
Max 2 years
Max $1,000
Legal 14
2 Felony
Illinois Class 4 Felony
1-3 years
Max $25,000
Class 4 Felony
1-3 years
Max $25,000
Class A Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $2,500
Class C Misdemeanor
Max 30 days
Max $1,500
15
Indiana Class D Felony
6 months to 3 years
Max $10,000
Class D Felony
6 months to 3 years
Max $10,000
Class A Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $5,000
Class B Misdemeanor
Max 180 days
Max $1,000
16
Oregon Class C Felony
Max 5 years
Max $125,000
Class C Felony
Max 5 years
Max $125,000
Class A Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $6,250
Class C Felony 17
2 Felony, 1 Legal
Minnesota Felony
Min 1 year 1 day
Felony
Min 1 year 1 day
Misdemeanor
Max 90 days
Max $1,000
Legal 18
Arizona Felony
9 months to 2 years
Max $150,000
Felony
9 months to 2 years
Max $150,000
Misdemeanor
Max $25,000
Legal 19
Oklahoma Felony
Max 10 years
Max $25,000
Felony
1-10 years
$2,000-$25,000
Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $5,000
Legal 20
Alaska Class C Felony
Max 5 years
Max $50,000
Class C Felony
Max 5 years
Max $50,000
Violation
No jail time
Max $500
Legal 21
Washington, D.C. Felony
Max 5 years
Max $25,000
Felony
Max 5 years
Max $25,000
Misdemeanor
Max 180 days
Max $1,000
Legal 22
Arkansas Felony
Max 6 years
Max $10,000
Felony
Max 6 years
Max $10,000
Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $1,000
Legal 23
Maine Class C crime
Court must impose a fine of $500 max, in addition to: Max 5 years; Max $5,000
Class C crime
Court must impose a fine of $500 max, in addition to:
Max 5 years;
Max $5,000
Class D crime
Max 1 year
Max $2,000
Legal 24
North Dakota Class C Felony
Max 5 years
Max $5,000
Class C Felony
Max 5 years
Max $5,000
Class A Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $2,000
Legal 25
Wyoming Felony
Max 2 years
Max $5,000
Felony
Max 2 years
Max $5,000
Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $750
Legal 26
Massachusetts Felony equivalent
Max 5 years (state prison) or Max 1 year (house of correction)
Max $1,000
Felony equivalent
Max 5 years (state prison) or Max 1 year (house of correction)
Max $1,000
Misdemeanor equivalent
Max 1 month
Max $250
Legal 27
New York Felony
Max 4 years
Max $25,000
Felony
Max 4 years
Max $25,000
Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $15,000
Legal 28
Wisconsin Class I Felony
Max 3 years, 6 months
Max $10,000
Class I Felony
Max 3 years, 6 months
Max $10,000
Class A misdemeanor
Max 9 months
Max $10,000
Legal 29
Delaware Class F Felony
Max 3 years
Discretionary fine
Class F Felony
Max 3 years
Discretionary fine
Class A Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $2,300
Legal 30
2 Felony, 2 Legal
Montana Felony
1-5 years
Max $5,000
Felony
1-5 years
Max $5,000
Legal Legal 31
1 Felony, 1 Legal
Missouri Class D Felony
Max 10 years
Legal Class A Misdemeanor
Min 6 months
Class A Misdemeanor
Min 6 months
32
1 Felony, 3 Legal
Georgia Felony
1-5 years
Max $15,000
Legal Legal Legal 33
Texas Felony
180 days to 2 years
Max $10,000
Legal Legal Legal 34
North Carolina Felony
3-8 months to 4-10 months
Legal Legal Legal 35
Misdemeanor
California Misdemeanor
Max of 1 year
Max of $5,000
Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $1,000
Misdemeanor
Max of 1 year
Max of $5000
Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $1,000
36
Misdemeanor, 1 Legal
Tennessee Class A Misdemeanor
Max: 11 months and 29 days
Max $2,500
Class A Misdemeanor
Max: 11 months and 29 days
Max $2,500
Class C Misdemeanor
Max 30 days
Max $50
Legal 37
West Virginia Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
$100-$1,000
Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
$300-$2,000
Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
$100-$1,000
Legal 38
New Mexico Petty Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $500
Petty Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $500
Petty Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $500
Legal 39
Ohio 4th Degree Misdemeanor
Max 30 days
Max $250
4th Degree Misdemeanor
Max 30 days
Max $250
4th Degree Misdemeanor
Max 30 days
Max $250
Legal 40
Misdemeanor, 2 Legal
Nevada Gross misdemeanor
1-4 years Max $5,000
Legal Misdemeanor
Max $1,000
Legal 41
South Carolina Misdemeanor: max 1 year, max $1,000; second and subsequent offenses can now bring up to a $3,000 fine and 3 years in prison. Legal Misdemeanor: max 1 year, max $1,000 Legal 42
Utah Class B Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $1,000
Legal Class B Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $1,000
Legal 43
South Dakota Class 1 Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $2,000
Legal Class 1 Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $2,000
Legal 44
Kansas Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $1,000
Legal Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $1,000
Legal 45
Louisiana Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $1000
Legal Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $1000
Legal 46
Misdemeanor, 3 Legal
Hawaii Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $2,000
Legal Legal Legal 47
Kentucky Class A Misdemeanor
Max 12 months
Max $500
Legal Legal Legal 48
Idaho Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
$100-$5,000
Legal Legal Legal 49
Mississippi Misdemeanor
10 days-100 days
$10-$100
Legal Legal Legal 50
Alabama Misdemeanor
fine not less than $20 or more than $50
Legal Legal Legal 51

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s